Construction of eight out of the twelve 2018 FIFA World Cup stadiums to start in 2014

In 2018, the FIFA World Cup tournament will be held by Russia. The final list of cities which will host the event was announced in September 2012. It was whittled down to eleven cities, with Krasnodar and Yaroslavl ultimately removed from the list. The host cities were divided into five clusters: Central Cluster (centered on Moscow), North Cluster (centered on Saint Petersburg), Southern Cluster (centered on Sochi), Volga River Cluster and the stand-alone city of Yekaterinburg.
Four proposed stadiums to host the World Cup matches are under construction (in St. Petersburg, Sochi, Saransk, and the Spartak Stadium in Moscow). However, it should be mentioned that since 2010, when the construction of a new stadium in Saransk was launched, little progress has been achieved. Only the initial stage of construction has been completed, and also the areas beneath the stands have seen some development. Two more stadiums are to be reconstructed (Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow and Tsentralniy Stadiumin Yekaterinburg). Another four stadiums will be built from scratch (in Kaliningrad, Samara, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don) and a new stadium in Volgograd will be built on the site of the old Tsentralny Stadium.

Sign up now to open the complete market analysis.

You may open an unlimited number of analyses accessible from PMR websites.
  • 1E-mail
    (to send requested information)
  • 2Brief profile
    (required for new e-mails only)

 required fields

You must accept PMR’s Privacy Policy.